We have a winner! 43rd Annual Capitol Frog Jump Results

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

SACRAMENTO - Senator Tom Berryhill (R-Twain Harte) is pleased to announce the winners of the 43rd annual Capitol Frog Jump. Elected officials, legislative staffers, media, and members of the public jockeyed their frogs in hopes of becoming frog-jump legends.

There are three winning categories: longest, shortest, and media jump. Trophies and bragging rights were awarded to the winners of the following categories:

Longest Jump goes to Assemblyman Kevin Kiley and his frog “Frog the Bounty Hunter”. Frog jumped an impressive 12 ft., 1 in.   

Shortest Jump went to the Assemblyman Jim Frazier and his frog “Leroy Green.” Although Leroy had been hitting his jumps in warmups, he struggled in the big moment. He jumped an unimpressive 2 ft., 9.5 in.

And finally, the Media Jump winner is once again KFBK reporter Joe Michaels and his frog Christopher Ribbit. Christopher and Joe have won so many times we may have to rename the media trophy “The Christopher Ribbit Award for Excellence in Jumping”… but not yet. This year Christopher jumped 10 ft. 1 in.

“Congratulations to our winners,” Berryhill said. “Thanks so much to everyone who participated, jockeys, organizers, fans and especially the frogs – a.k.a.: The talent. And a big ‘ribbit’ of gratitude goes to Assemblyman Frank Bigelow for being a fine master of ceremonies.”

Senator Berryhill represents Calaveras County in the state Senate.  The Capitol Frog Jump is an unofficial kick off to the Calaveras County Fair and Jumping Frog Jubilee, which runs from May 18 to the 21st in Angels Camp.

Started in 1928, the frog jump was inspired by Mark Twain's fictional work, "The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County."  The Calaveras County Fair adopted the Jumping Frog as their theme 10 years later. For more information, visit www.frogtown.org.

# # #

The list of frog jockeys and distances jumped can be found here